SECME NATIONALS NEWSLETTER

Dear SECME Family,

Congratulations to our students for all the hard work in submitting and presenting your projects at SECME's first Virtual National Contest! Your passion for STEM is truly inspiring, and we are so proud we had the opportunity to showcase your talents. We will be mailing medals to the top three winners, and certificates of participation will be sent to all contestants.

This year, we had over 200 participants and sponsors in attendance! We are grateful for the support from our valued SECME teachers, students, families, and partners, without whom this event wouldn't have been possible.

Regarding future SECME National Contests, the EQuiPD grant is working diligently to explore options and find a solution that will allow us to continue the competition experience for our students.

Once again, thank you to everyone who made this year's Virtual National Contest a success. We look forward to continuing our journey together and exploring new opportunities for STEM education and empowerment.

Sincerely, The SECME Team

MEET THE TEAM



Nancy Ruzycki
Principal Investigator
EQuIPD Grant



Ta'Neil MalcolmProject Manager



Grace Watts
Team Lead



Alexa Boksiner

Marketing and Outreach

Coordinator



Rita Irene Paredes Operations Specialist

Marquise Meda

We would like to express our gratitude to Marquise Meda for serving as our keynote speaker. His inspiring words and experiences had a profound impact on our students, motivating them to pursue a career in STEM. His PowerPoint presentation from the competition can be accessed here!



Univeristy of Florida Engineering Panelists



Kadin El Bakkouri



Bryanna Stults



Bellenda Fertil

We would like to extend our sincere gratitude to our panelists for taking the time to share their experiences with our students! Your insight and advice as engineering students and professionals from the University of Florida has undoubtedly inspired the next generation of engineers.

ESSAY WINNERS

K - 2nd

o 1st Place: Adam Torres-Rivero - River Tower Academy

o 2nd Place: Layla Ceballos - Christina M. Eve Elementary School

3rd - 5th

o 1st Place: Wyn Swanson – Joan Walker Elementary

o 2nd Place: Adriana Suljoti – Heron Heights Elementary

o 3rd Place: Siya Shahi – Heron Heights Elementary

6th - 8th

o 1st Place: Darnisha Julmiste – Lyons Creek Middle School

o 2nd Place: Ansh Ghandi - Milwee Middle School

o 3rd Place: Alex Rodriguez – Lyons Creek Middle School

9th - 12th

o 1st Place: Layla Boghossian - Xceed Preparatory Academy

o 2nd Place: Imani Price - Mary Star of The Sea Catholic Academy

o 3rd Place: Alejandra Perry - Miami Coral Park Senior High School

LOGO WINNERS

Elementary

1st Place: Jiaxin Duan – Heron Heights Elementary 2nd Place: Aarav Gupta – Heron Heights Elementary

3rd Place: Avika Mahesh - Orlando Science Charter School

Middle

1st Place: Charlotte Miller - Milwee Middle School

2nd Place: Anay Mahesh - Arbor Ridge

3rd Place: Zoe A. McDonald - Apollo Middle School

High

1st Place: Mia Toledo- Pinecrest Preparatory Middle-High School

POSTER WINNERS

Elementary

- o 1st Place: Odin George Stenstrom Elementary
- o 2nd Place: Avika Mahesh Orlando Science Charter School
- o 3rd Place: Kelise Clayton Divine Academy

Middle

- o 1st Place: Zoey Graham Divine Academy
- o 2nd Place: Charlotte Miller Milwee Middle School
- o 3rd Place: Cameron Young Katherine Johnson STEM Academy

High

- o 1st Place: Melissa Greenwich Divine Academy
- o 2nd Place: Sumeira Singh Winter Springs High School

AI WINNERS

Middle

o **1st Place:** Eliana Brody, Dylan Kramer – Apollo Middle School

High

o 1st Place: Matthew Huang - Central Florida Home School

MOUSETRAP CAR WINNERS

Elementary

- 1st Place: The Boy Rappers Kathryn Cunningham Odis McClain, Jamie Fields, Marcus Washington
- 2nd Place: Reeboot Robots Stenstrom Elementary Calvin Johnson, Brantley Hockemeyer, Hatty Warren
- 3rd Place: Ojus Elementary Sebastian Alvarez, Sebastian Parkin, Hadassah Richard, Landon Williams, Tracey Phanor

Middle

- 1st Place: Shooting Stars Apollo Middle School Madison Ortiz, Angely Garcia, Christine Arkinson
- o 2nd Place: The Ogs² Verde K-8 Trevor F, Carolina L, Julian A
- o 3rd Place: Fast and Furious Skyler Nguyen, Jamin Savage

High

- 1st Place: 2 Fast 2 Fabulous Young Womens College Prep Academy - Cameron Carter, Rhianna Currette-Warren, Jaimara Prince
- 2nd Place: Mu Alpha Zeta Villages Charter School Zion Lumpay, Matthew Ngo, Audrielle Paige Esma
- o 3rd Place: Wary Rishith Arra, Aidan Burtoft, Wasit Khan

WATER BOTTLE ROCKET WINNERS

Elementary

- 1st Place: Ovideo Rocket Group (ORG) Stenstrom Elementary -Camden Bedrossian, Sagar Parikh, Graham Varkey
- 2nd Place: Energy Blast Green Acres Elementary Leonardo, Elisa, Saira

Middle

- 1st Place: The Three Rocketeers Apollo Middle School Rylee Flynt, Erianna Harvey, Sofia Sanchez
- 2nd Place: Team Explorers Ponce De Leon Middle School Tristan Szutar, Jazlyn Vazquezbello, Luis Rincon, Valentino Vazquez

High

- 1st Place: FalconX John A. Ferguson High School Damien Guzman, Fabio Martin, Dominic Hung, Issac Angulo
- 2nd Place: Innovation Bottle Rockets Innovation High School –
 Diamond Edward, Deacon Caudle, Aiden Qong, Austin Ramsey